skip navigation

Graduate Students

PhD Students Admitted Fall 2017

We recently asked our new PhD students a few questions to get to know them better: Do you have any words to live by that you’d like to share? What excites you the most about being a part of the Economics PhD program at UB? What excites you about Buffalo (e.g. people, places, sites, activities, food, etc.)?

Here they are, and here’s what they had to share:

Back row, left to right:

Zhenfeng Peng: “Choosing a PhD Program means harder working and more challenges. And the surroundings of the department and UB are the best places to help.”

Runze Zhang: “UB is a wonderful place for dreaming and making dreams come true. I am now doing the former and will do the latter soon.”

Jiaan Lin: “The people here are very nice and there is a lot of food from different countries to try! Campus is beautiful and I am really enjoying my time at UB!”

Zukhriddin Juliev: “What excites me most about the department? Helpful and understanding faculty! And Buffalo? The green forests everywhere and occasional deer around.”

Front row, left to right:

Sirui Liu: “Make your mark. Live your life”

Muhammad Hossain: “The more I learn, the more I know how foolish I am! And that motivates me to learn even more. This PhD program will surely inspire me to learn more than I ever have before!”

Ozge Bostanci: “A butterfly flaps its wings in one corner of the world which causes a hurricane across the world. Thus, I have started flapping my wings by being a part of the Economics PhD program at UB.”

Motomu Matsamura: “Since the Economics PhD program at UB has many international students, each of us has a different background. I look forward to sharing ideas and utilizing them for research. Also, Buffalo has both urban areas and nature, so I am excited to enjoy various activities.”

Sandipa Bhattacharjee: “Leaving a full time job to go back to school for a PhD wasn’t a hard decision for me because I knew why I was going back and what I want to get out of it. So far at UB, it has been one of the most fulfilling experiences of my life and a great career decision. Starting from an attractive campus, outdoor recreations, Niagara Falls, Buffalo wings, activists through our Distinguished Speakers Series, etc. — this place is very cool in its own ways! Coming to my department — the famous UB Economics Department — what I find is a culture of acceptance among people, where I can lower my inhibitions and explore the unexplored. So march on! I’m keeping my feet loose and looking forward to generate an upward sloping learning curve and do justice to the demanding graduate program! “Arise, awake and stop not till the goal is reached” as “the man who wins is the man who thinks he can” :)”

 

Continuing PhD Students

Seungmin Baek – sbaek6@buffalo.edu – 2016

Yuting Bai – yutingba@buffalo.edu – 2016

Agni Bose – agnibose@buffalo.edu – 2015

Bibaswan Chatterjee – bibaswan@buffalo.edu – 2013

Xinyan Chen – xinyanch@buffalo.edu – 2013

Hoang Xuan Dao – hoangxua@buffalo.edu – 2014

Madhura Dasgupta – madhurad@buffalo.edu – 2014

Sayan De Sarkar – sayandes@buffalo.edu – 2011

Haiyan Ding – haiyandi@buffalo.edu – 2015

Xu Guo – xuguo@buffalo.edu – 2012

Zheng Han – zhan5@buffalo.edu – 2015

Shuhua He – shuhuahe@buffalo.edu – 2014

Sungwoo Hong – sungwooh@buffalo.edu – 2012

Qiuyu Hu – qiuyuhu@buffalo.edu – 2015

Nicole L. Hunter – nlhunter@buffalo.edu – 2011

Ye Jiang – yjiang25@buffalo.edu – 2016

Sanghyeon Kim – skim38@buffalo.edu – 2012

Sangyong Kim – sangyong@buffalo.edu – 2015

Radhika Krishnan – radhikak@buffalo.edu – 2015

Chia-Wei Liang – cliang8@buffalo.edu – 2011

Yiqian Lu – yiqianlu@buffalo.edu – 2013

Jianbo Luo – jianbolu@buffalo.edu – 2011

Nguyen Binh Ngo – nguyenng@buffalo.edu – 2012

Nguyen Thi Binh Nguyen – thibinhn@buffalo.edu – 2013

Sungmin Park – spark38@buffalo.edu – 2016

Sreemoyee Ray – sreemoye@buffalo.edu – 2016

Guillermo Sinisterra – gas8@buffalo.edu – 2004

Yenan Sun – yenansun@buffalo.edu – 2014

Ying Chih Sun – yingchih@buffalo.edu – 2015

Muhua Tan – muhuatan@buffalo.edu – 2016

Yiru Wang – yiruwang@buffalo.edu – 2013

Po-Chieh Yang – pochiehy@buffalo.edu – 2009

Mahdieh Yazdani – mahdiehy@buffalo.edu – 2014

Yue Yin – yyin4@buffalo.edu – 2016

Xuan Zhang – xuanzhan@buffalo.edu – 2009